The Community page features links to resources including the websites of Barrington Public Schools, the Bay Spring Community Center, the Community School, the Land Conservation Trust, the Preservation Society Museum, the Barrington Farm School, and Bristol County Water, as well as information on the Town's history.
The town of Barrington was founded in 1717 rather than 1770 as shown on the signs at the entrances to town. 1770 was the date of Barrington's refounding after 23 years as part of Warren, Rhode Island. The Town Calendar for 2017 displays the portrait of Viscount John Shute Barrington, for whom our town was named. Lord Barrington was a powerful English politician and theologian, and the brother of Samuel Shute, Governor of Massachusetts. The Calendar cover also includes a transcript of the November 18th, 1717, creation of "Barrington" by the Massachusetts House of Representatives.
In November of 2015, a group of citizens urged the Town Council to form Barrington 300 to celebrate 300 YEARS OF PROGRESS IN BARRINGTON. In August of 2016, Barrington 300 was made a Town Administrative Committee and charged with creating a Calendar of Events. Barrington 300 is comprised of 50 volunteers with a Board and Advisory Committee, who will execute the year-long program.
This represents a unique opportunity to unite our community through the Celebration of its 300-year history with many town-wide activities. 2017 promises to be an exciting year for Barrington. It offers a great opportunity for the community to learn about Barrington's heritage and participate in this Tricentennial Celebration!
For more information, visit the Barrington 300 page.